Book Review #5

 

7757050.jpg

Declan:  The musician of the Boudreaux family and the twin brother of Savannah. He’s rather successful and appreciates the New Orleans scene. He has spent some time in Nashville but liked the style of his home town better.

Callie has only just returned to New Orleans after inheriting her father’s bar. She left when she was 18 and had never planned to come back but life doesn’t always turn out the way you planned it. One night Declan plays in her bar and even though they are feeling each others vibes and have the so called “Hots” for each other from the very start, Declan is a player and Callie’s is knowledgeable of his playboy status. They go through some tough times, mainly in the  communication department and personality dissimilarities as they learn about each other. These are the kinds of problems that are undoubtedly the cause for most of the early downfall of the relationship but each of their distinct strengths and weaknesses is part of what makes these two work out in the long run.

Easy Melody is the best book in my opinion in this series. It seems like every book just gets better and better. At this point I’ve read lots of Kristen’s work & she is rapidly becoming one of my favorite authors.  If you’ve read the With in Me in Seattle series, you will be pleased about the cameo appearance of Leo, Sam, Will and Meg. I highly recommend those books as well. I was hoping that would happen as I was reading the book and Declan and Callie were headed to Seattle. It was an easy transition with Declan and Callie’s enjoyment of football games and Declan and Leo both being in the music business. Now I cant wait  for book #4 to come out and to see what’s next for this family and new characters .

 

 

Book Review #4

  
This book takes me back to high school when I was a freshman. I remember going into the Borders bookstore (where I was a frequent visitor/buyer) in browsing the young adult section I remember seeing the book and I wasn’t really interested (I know they say never judge a book by its cover) but that’s what I did. However my version of the book looks a little different 

  I decided to buy the book anyway because it was on sale and you can never have too many books on your bookshelf. I brought the book home on a Friday and finished it the next day I couldn’t put it down. Time passed, I went off to college and grad school and it had remained on my bookshelf for years .On November 2015 I decided to revisit the book again because I had forgotten what happened and too my surprise I was in shock this time around as I was the first time I read it .I forgot what I thought of it at first but since I’ve reread it here is what I think of it now & my review:

We are introduced to Kate who is a high school senior waiting to hear from her dream school in MIT. Her mom died when she was younger and MIT was her Alma mater. Kate’s father is a preacher “a doer of good deeds” and her brother Toby is a 14-year-old who’s your typical teenage boy. Then you have her boyfriend Mitchell who has been accepted to Harvard early decision Sarah her best friend is off to college and then you have her arch nemesis Terri Hatcher her son Mikey and her mother Mrs. Hatcher. Terry is rough ,handy with power tools unfriendly to anybody she encounters. Things take a turn when Terry’s house burns down and she along with her brother (although Mikey is really her son. In the beginning I never really understood why she said her brother but I guess she didn’t really want anybody to know that she had a son). Terry has a bit of a sticky fingers problem because she takes both Kate’s necklace that Mitch gave her and her watch which was her late mothers.

Things take a disastrous and sad turn when one day when they’re all working on Terry’s house Mikey goes upstairs and has an unfortunate accident that takes the two-year-olds life. As expected Terry is uncontrollable and starts destroying the house. In the end Kate and Teri make peace and he realizes that there’s more to getting into the top school. 

I now understand the title of this book Ctalyst which is “a substance that increases the rate of a chemical reaction without itself undergoing any permanent change” which looking at it now makes sense because with Teri’s house burning down she probably thought it was permanent and the house burning down that is the substance that increased all these events that happened in Kates life. Also them not watching Little Mikey is what set off Terry in a chemical reaction to her self destructing . This book taught me about how to handle rejection I didn’t realize it then because I was only a freshman in high school in looking at colleges at the time but now you having reread it and I’ve been to college and grad school and remember applying more than one school you’re not going to get in to everyone and that’s what Kate is faced with her dream school is MIT and MIT alone. I highly recommend this book. Its a great quick read.