Interview with Jack Harney

GlfQG4Mx_400x400.png

Welcome all.

Today I’m very lucky to be interviewing Jack Harney author of Six and The Millstone Prophecy

Hi Jack, thank you for agreeing to this interview

Where are you from?

I was born in the poorest part of the Bronx, Mott Haven, but spent half of my teenage years and most of my adult life in Michigan. I love Michigan, but my heart still belongs to New York City. I grew up in a post WWII immigrant neighborhood with aunts and uncles all around me. I always feel like that child who was raised by a village.

Tell us your latest News/Current Projects

  • I released my latest book, “SIX” in October and it’s enjoying a steady climb of readers. My 1st book, “The Millstone Prophecy” was released in July 2011. With free promotions and sales it’s been downloaded over 34,000 times. A long fight I made with my wife’s battle with cancer was in between until she died on Christmas Day 2014.I’m marketing both books now and already engaged in the research for my next, another Dax McGowan Mystery. Love doing the research; it generates ever increasing enthusiasm.

When/Why did you begin writing?

  • Always knew I would write someday, but also wanted to raise a family and be successful enough to get my kids through college and spend enough time with them to hopefully grow into becoming contributing human beings. I became actively engaged in research and writing in 2008.

What genre are your books?

  • Mystery/Thriller/Detective/Urban Setting.

What draws you to this genre?

  • I originally was going to write philosophical non-fiction until I was introduced to the clergy sex abuse scandal in the Catholic Church. I entered into a state of great interest as my research revealed that the issue was barely touched on but the media, and the cover up was many fathoms deeper than the public knew. After interviews with victims, my desire to write about what I learned had become an obsession. I realized a non-fiction account of facts and personal interviews would produce only a small following. So, I decided to apply my movie buff experience, and my interest in all things Sherlock Holmes, to produce a story that could stand on its own in the mystery genre, but would also teach readers about the real deal on the issue…a form of socially bent historical fiction.

In ten words or less, Describe your writing style.

  • The all-seeing narrator, action, action and more action.

Do you have any strange writing habits?

  • I move from place to place each hour or so to prevent back issues. Schedule more than one deep massage at the end of a book and listen to the masseuse tell me about all the knots she’s discovered in my shoulders.

Do you write on a typewriter, computer, dictate, longhand, etc.?

  • Laptop all the way.

How long on average does it take you to write a book?

  • My experience has been different with these two books mostly because I was so inexperienced on the first, but I’d say 7 months.

What makes a good story?

  • This is the proverbial beauty in the eye of the beholder thing, but it has to take the reader on a ride where they are so immersed, they don’t even feel the vibrations of the train car they’re riding in.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

  • As far back as I can remember, I realized that the ideas I wanted to share sounded so much better when I took the time to write and edit them than when I spoke on them extemporaneously. And, my 93 year old mother will tell you I always had ideas and opinions I wanted to share going back to when I was age five.

Give us an insight on your main character(s).

  • Dax McGowan, much like Sherlock Holmes, he’s driven by observation and logic few others have the skill to employ. Being born with an eidetic memory helps in both regards. However, he has a weakness. Unlike the stoic 19th Century character, love and personal attachments mute his skills. In “The Millstone Prophecy,” he mistakes the troubling signs his daughter exhibits to be something other than her abuse by a pedophile priest which leads to her suicide.

Is anything in your book based on real life experiences or purely all imagination?

  • Oh yes, both. Names, places and personal experiences are peppered throughout. I believe the more it’s real to the author, the more it will come off as real to the reader.

What’s a typical working day like for you? When and where do you write? Do you set a daily writing goal?

  • While I gather a good deal of research, I’m a seat of the pants as a writer. I can begin one day at 8:00 a.m. and look up to see it’s then already 3 p.m. Those are great writing days, but I’m less able to write the next day because my brain is fried. Most days are more normal, but I take time off when I know “It’s” not there.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

  • My goal is write every mystery so that you feel satisfied at the end all the loose ends are covered, but you also feel like your experience after watching the movie, “The Sixth Sense.” You’ve been fooled, but in a most enjoyable way. On top of that, you know you’ve learned something(s) new about an important issue.

How can readers discover more about you and you work?

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to take part in this interview

Struggles Only Book Nerds Will Understand

imagesRI1DGMIH.jpg

Because you know the struggle is very, very real

  • Deciding which book to read next

  • Being excited to see the movie adaptation only to find out that they got everything wrong.

  • Waiting forever for a sequel to come out

  • Running out of space for your books

  • Lending a book to a friend only to get it back damaged.Or worse, never getting it back at all

  • Being interrupted while reading

  • People saying you read too much

  • Losing your place when your bookmark falls out

  • Running out of money from buying so many books (and still needing to buy more).

anigif_optimized-13544-1426093640-6.gif

And Finally

  • Finishing a book and realizing you live in the real world and not the book’s world.

 

Book Review #14

  
Cop: A True Story, is the true story about Sergeant Mike Middleton and his years with the LAPD. This author gives great insight into the LA Police Department in his 20+ years of service. In the beginning of book we are taken on a wild ride through the city where racism was a big problem and the sexual harassment towards female officers to the present day.

I like how Sergeant Middleton was brutally honest in some of the stories. He talks about his own racial remarks. Another thing I like are the powerful descriptions that are described in this book.

I remember when I got this book and I had it on my shelf for a year or two and something just told me to pick you up and start reading this past summer and I’m glad I finished it. I’m not a police officer by any means although I did go to school for criminal justice and I have two state police officers in my family and I respect them with everything. I may not know what it’s like to be a cop in major city but this book paints a pretty vivid picture of that. 

I like how this book talks about many different topics within the police community the bravery they have, the politics and racism. Sometimes what Sergeant Middleton talks about Can be a little bit graphic but not overly done. This is a great read ,I highly recommend it to anybody Who likes books about cops and wants to know what an LAPD officer goes through throughout his career & to get a little insight about the streets of LA and what they’re like from the point of view of an officer. Great read.