Book Review #22

15760001.jpg

This is another Dollar Tree buy. I just happened to see this when I walked by and the cover was intriguing. This is a first person point of view told by Jocelyn, A 22-year-old American living in Scotland trying to find her way back to living life without actually examining the hurt and pain she carried with her every day. I like this character, I liked her raw honesty with herself. She knows she has some issues and she keeps in emotional distance between the world and herself all because she does not want to be hurt again.

I like how this author wrote her with very genuine emotion and genuine depth. Braden is just another normal guy millionaire to be exact. He is focused on building his business, having fun and spending time with his family. He is described as tall with pale blue eyes and messy dark hair and I just kept seeing Henry Cavill in this role. Very alpha male. He meets Jocelyn and instantly think she’s gorgeous he loves her attitude and independence. Jocelyn also likes Braden but is hesitant to get involved with him because that’s not in her plan to be involved with anyone. I love all the sexual tension between them.

Those scenes however where passionate and erotic and about 20 other words maybe to explicit for this blog 😊 I think this romance has just the right amount of thanks for me angst for me. I liked this book. There were laugh out loud moments and heart stopping ones that will make you gasp.

My rating: 📖📖📖📖

Book Review #21

2657.jpg

With the recent passing of Harper Lee. I thought it was fitting to review “To Kill A Mockingbird”. I know everyone knows this book and I suspect that the book itself would never be read below for stars. No disrespect to the author her self but I do not like this book even though I had seen the movie and we’ve read a little bit in high school it took me to be honest months to read this book. There something about this book that doesn’t work for me.

The reader spends countless Pages going through the motions of every day life. The trial at the end is it had more interesting and strange the book shows the importance of treating innocent people with kindness.

I know this book has a powerful important meaning & message that everyone should understand. People are afraid of what they don’t know and we can all do your best to be kind without deserve it the most I get it and I understand that message but the book was so boring that it was hard for me to finish. There was one thing I didn’t hate about the book and that was the message and back when I was in school I didn’t understand why we had to read this but now that I’m older I see why kids read this in schools. The whole concept of learning from our mistakes, and what Tom had to go through which was horrible and as a reader you got to see it from the point of view of a child.

What does this say about me, that I disliked a Pulitzer prize winning book, teachers and students read all over America? There is absolutely no harm in going out and buying/reading this book. I know plenty of people that love this book, but its just not for me. Just giving my honest opinion. What I recommend is the movie

My rating 📖