Book Review #27

51erEvChGpL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I had heard good things about this book, and it had been recommended to me, so I was definitely looking forward to it. Unfortunately, it did not meet my expectations. My main problem with the book was the characterization and character development. In this story, Patroclus is stripped off the status as a great warrior he dons in Homer’s Iliad, and becomes a shadow who will often dwindle in self-pity. He can’t fight, and he won’t even try to learn. And by the time the book ends, not much has changed in him in comparison to the time he befriended Achilles as a child, at the beginning.

The love story between Achilles and Patroclus did not have a foundation solid enough for me to become emotionally involved. Patroclus does not understand why does Achilles come to love him so much, so fast. Neither did I. Their story seemed like something out of a fairytale: beautiful on the surface, but lacking in substance, in actual development. The same could be said about Achilles himself. Some things I did enjoy, though. Odysseus was fantastic. Some of the imagery was very interesting. I understand this is a re-imagining of the myth, but it was unfortunately not one I could enjoy. I wish I would have liked it.

Overall, I’d recommend this to anyone who already knows and loves “The Iliad”.

My rating: 📖📖📖

