Book Review #178

18107005.jpg

eBook, 147 pages
Published August 9th 2013 by Total-E-Bound Publishing (first published August 8th 2013)
Oh my gosh…I am hooked on the dark side! The Darkening was an incredible read for me. There wasn’t one thing I didn’t like. All the elements I enjoy where here for me to enjoy. The characters were just WOW (I’ll get back to them in a moment). The dialog had me alternating between laughing and fanning myself. Let’s not forget the details. Frankly, the attention to detail that some authors use can sometimes be wording and boring. However, this was not the case for me today. The author description of the countryside astounded me. I could just see those English Moors and fields of heather. I see other reviews where people will say this is just another FSoG. I do wish people would stop comparing every erotic novel to FSoG because frankly, I enjoyed this story so much more. Between the smarmy comments, the British humor and slang (which I do get) and the hot sex, I was riveted and could not put this book down. If I was to have one complaint about this book is I wish it was longer.

Nathan Darke, charming, good looking, British. I can’t resist a guy with an accent. *SIGHS* My initial impression of him is a certain well known Dom minus all the angry emotional baggage and phobias. However, let’s be honest, the real star of this story is Eva. She’s intelligent, talented violinist, frumpy and socially clumsy. I adore the fact that she’s not perfect. With her frizzy red hair and smallish breast, frankly, I find her a breath of fresh air in her less than perfect state. In addition, even though she seems social inept, she does not come out all mousy meek. Oh no…she’s got a saucy back-bone that does rear her head. It is when that backbone pops up and she starts sparring with Nathan that I love her best. Yes, their sexual attraction between them is hot, and the sex SIZZLES, but really it is when they are interacting on a vocal and emotional level that really draws me in.
OK…here’s the part where I warn about the sex content. There is both vanilla sex as well toys and BDSM action. While the BDSM will automatically rate a book at 4-Flames it’s the author’s attention to detail (See above) that really does it for me. Hot, yummy and anytime Eva wants to tag out I’m sure that will be many a reader happy to take her place.

When author Ashe Barker say in the blurb that the story “ends on a cliffhanger that some readers might find upsetting” she is not kidding. I have yet to read a cliffhanger that had me screaming at my Kindle NOOO! Seriously, that is a cliffhanger guaranteed to have you panting for the next title. I personally cannot wait for the next book. Is Darkening a book worth reading? Oh yes! This is a series definitely worth my recommendation.

An added note – an over done cover can make or break a book. I like a cover that simple and this one rocked it for me. Its clean lines and elegance is what initially drew me to wanting to read Darkening in the first place. Shadows and a violin…simple perfection.

Author: mccullum001

I'm a 27 year old, who really doesn't know what I want to do...I have the education, but nothing to show for it...Stay Tuned!!!

Leave a Reply

