Book Review #188

6405929.jpg


Hardcover, First Edition, 278 pages

Published November 16th 2009 by Little, Brown and Company

Original Title

I, Alex Cross

ISBN

0316018783 (ISBN13: 9780316018784)

Edition Language

English

URL

http://www.jamespatterson.com/

Series

Alex Cross #16

Characters

Alex Cross

This is a typical James Patterson novel, which is definitely NOT a bad thing. I enjoyed the rapid-fire pace of the story and how he kept the action moving with short chapters.

And there sure was A LOT of action. Some parts were gross. I mean, really nauseatingly gross. I had to close my eyes and shake off the gruesome murder scenes more than once. In addition, as the story revolved around a sex club, some chapters contained explicit sex. It was essential to the plot and not just there for shock value–though some of it was admittedly shocking to read. With each murder and act of depravity, I really wanted Alex to track down the corrupt perverts and punish them big time.

Another thing I like about the series is the presence of family, which balances the story out and adds an extra layer to Alex Cross. This book was no exception, with a touching subplot revolving around Alex’s Nana. It was a dose of humanity in the midst of a very inhumane murder case.

I enjoyed this book, devouring it during one sitting. And the cliffhanger ending left me wanting more

Author: mccullum001

I'm a 27 year old, who really doesn't know what I want to do...I have the education, but nothing to show for it...Stay Tuned!!!

Leave a Reply

