Book Review #194

41XQs8m68yL._SY346_.jpg

Kindle Edition, 302 pages

Published March 29th 2016

ASIN

B01DMSV0YG

Billy Taylor’s novel Just Friends has me on hooked and I really enjoyed it. In this novel, Ethan Knight and August Bishop have been best friends since they were 6. Ethan’s dad was not around much after his mom died. This led Ethan to spend lots of time with August and her family. August and Ethan kept a tight circle, including one other friend, Max. Ethan’s passion is magic and August’s passion is acting. As they get older, they both begin following their dreams. In the midst of this, August realizes something that will change her life. Through this story, August and Ethan share many emotions that bring them closer together. After magic, fame, movies, and money, August and Ethan realize they want to be more than just friends. The author’s style of writing was unique. Taylor wrote the whole book from August’s point of view. Billy Taylor also used dates for the different chapters, making the book feel like August’s journal. The author also added dialogue and emails between other characters and August. The one thing that bothered me a little about the author’s style of writing was the grammatical errors and typos. However, these errors were easily read over and understandable. It also made the book feel more like it was a teenager’s journal.
This book impacted my life a lot. This book taught me a lot about love and dreams. After reading this story, it became apparent to me to not be scared to tell others how I feel just because their reaction is unknown. It also taught me to take risks even if I am unsure of the outcome. Billy Taylor used a lot of different techniques to grab my attention. For one, he uses anticipation to keep the reader guessing. The author throws in obstacles to twist up the story and make it more interesting. Additionally, Taylor throws in subtle foreshadowing in the beginning of the story that becomes apparent at the end of the story. This foreshadowing adds a significant part of the story by connecting the beginning and ending, making the story come full circle. Overall, I very much enjoyed this book. Some critics say that parts of the book are unrealistic, however most stories need to be embellished in order to emphasize events. I believe the book was very insightful into the mind of a teenager. August went through a roller coaster of emotions and events because of love. Similarly, Billy Taylor put my emotions through a roller coaster ride with tears, happiness, and more. I enjoyed the style of writing the author used to write this book. I feel as if the characters were very relatable no matter who you are. The author did not just make me relate to the book, Billy Taylor made me feel like I was apart of it. The author did an amazing job pulling you into the story and once I started reading, I never wanted to put the book down. The book was told from August’s perspective, so the readers knew she loved Ethan. However, Ethan’s feeling were not shown and it kept the readers in suspense
**Spoiler Alert** “I love you… I’ve loved you from the moment I first laid eyes on you, and I will do until my dying day. I will always, always, always… love you. So badly it hurts (Taylor 269).” As a reader, I waited for this quote to be said since the beginning of the book. From the start of the book, I was waiting for this moment to happen, or not happen. Fortunately, it happened and it happened in such a way that I became very emotional at this part of the book.

Author: mccullum001

I'm a 27 year old, who really doesn't know what I want to do...I have the education, but nothing to show for it...Stay Tuned!!!

Leave a Reply

