Book Review #214

51rsK2vLv1L

Paperback, 300 pages
Published April 17th 2017 by JKB Publishing, LLC

ISBN
1942832044 (ISBN13: 9781942832041)

 

Holy wow. This book was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. My heart is STILL in my throat after reading this. The writing paints such a vivid picture that you feel that you’re right there with Easton and Scout-in the locker room, on the diamond-wherever they are, you are. This was a journey I didn’t want to end-and certainly didn’t want to end with a cliffhanger.

I fell hard for Easton. I adored how REAL he was. I could feel his struggles-from living in the shadow of his father, to taking care of his mom, to finding out who HE really was. I wanted to hold sit with him and just be, just process who he was and what made him tick. Add in the fact that he had some serious swoon factor? Yep, I was toast. I’ll gladly add Easton to my list of Book Boyfriends…and he may even qualify as a Book Husband.

Scout was a great match for Easton. Their situations are similar in a sense, so they have something common to bond with even without their shared love of the game. I really, really wanted to give her a hug. She was pulled in many different directions and tried so hard to stay true to what she thought was the best thing for everyone. She had such a sweet heart under a tough exterior-getting to know her was a treat.

These two together were phenomenal. The chemistry is there-even when they both tried to avoid it. You can’t help but root for the two of them, to hope that somehow things will work when it seems it would really be for the best if they stayed apart. The sexy times were AMAZING, but the quiet, getting to know you times were just as amazing to me.

The plot and pacing of this book was spot on. The author had me intrigued and invested in what was happening with these characters from the start. The secondary characters added a whole other layer to this already complex book-and they were fantastic in their own way.

Now, this book does have a cliffhanger ending. Normally I hate that. I’m not a fan of cliffhangers, of having to wait to see what comes next. This cliffhanger made sense-and also had me on the edge of my seat. I’m still speculating what may or may not happen next…and I probably will be until the end of June when the second book comes out. I highly recommend this book.

Author: mccullum001

I'm a 27 year old, who really doesn't know what I want to do...I have the education, but nothing to show for it...Stay Tuned!!!

Leave a Reply

